Finalists announced for Cotton’s highest awards in 2022

Cotton Australia CEO Adam Kay said nominations were opened earlier this year and the response has been outstanding.

“Each year we have been impressed with the calibre of nominees and this year is no exception, presenting a challenge for judges in making their selections.”

The finalists in the Bayer Grower of the Year are:

•       Corish Farms "Yattlewondi" - Glen Harney Manager, Talwood QLD

•       Sundown Pastoral Co "Keytah" Nick Gillingham Manager Moree NSW

•       Graincott Farming Co "Kensington Park" Dan Hayllor Dalby QLD

The finalists in the AgriRisk High Achiever Award are:

•       "Tipperary Station" Bruce Connolly Daly River NT

•       Porter Farming "Attleigh" Grant Porter Brookstead QLD

•       Dalara Pastoral Operations "Myall Park" Rob Davies Blackville NSW

The finalists in the ADAMA Chris Lehmann Trust Young Achiever of The Year

•       Lucas Wuersching, St George QLD

•       Bradley Donald, Moree NSW

•       Jessica Strauch, Goondiwindi QLD

The finalists in the Cotton Seed Distributors Researcher of the Year are:

•       Cotton Landcare Tech Innovations project team - Stacey Vogel Narrabri NSW

•       Dr. Mick Rose Wollongbar, NSW

•       Dr. Oliver Knox Armidale NSW

The judges for 2022 include the 2021 Bayer Grower of the Year winner Tony Quigley, and the AgriRisk High Achiever of the Year Ashley Geldard, along with AgriRisk’s Deidre McCallum and Bayer’s Mark Dawson.

Mr Quigley said despite winning the award for 2021 he found the process to be eye opening. “I have learned a bit about growing cotton having done it for 35 but I still learnt something new from each of the nominees, such is the quality and diversity of knowledge in our industry.

“The farm visits have been of particular interest as it allowed us to ask questions on site and to examine their strategies, infrastructure and observe their farming practices and while there are common elements there are some innovative things happening that are very exciting for the industry.”

The judges will now review all nominations before finalising the winners who will be announced at this year’s Cotton Conference on the Gold Coast in August.

Back to news